Picking a Plan

Here we go with day 2! Feeling good and actually a little peppy! I love having a plan and so I spent some time today looking for a workout plan that I felt was right for me. One thing I am terrible at is planning workouts. It’s something that I just need other people to do for me, and that’s why I really love www.bodybuilding.com. There is so much information on that site and some really great programs too! (I’m partial to Bill Phillips, but that’s not what I chose to go with). For the last two years, I have structured my workouts (when motivated to actually work out) around Bill Phillips’ Body for Life and more recently his Transformation plan. I made some good progress recently with this plan until life got complicated and sent me into a tailspin. Here are the before/after shots after only four weeks. I’m some where in between those two photos right now.

2015-10-27 06.06.23 2015-10-27 06.07.30

I feel like it’s time to switch it up and try something new so I decided to go with Jamie Eason’s LiveFit. I like the staged approach and that the weeks don’t repeat themselves. I get bored easily and I think that will help me stay focused. I’m excited to try it and give you my thoughts! Official workout start on Monday, but I have obviously started making efforts to clean up my diet right away.

20151215_085240

Today’s version of “the funk” (ie – my adventures in protein shakes) turned out much better. This one is 1 cup of mixed berries, about 1/4 cup vanilla coconut milk, 1/4 scoop Vega Protein + greens. I think I will start with just 1/4 cup of the protein and add a little more as I get used to the obnoxious fake sweet taste (side note: I don’t have a sweet tooth so I don’t like things to be really sweet). Once this tub is done, I will do a little more research before I commit and try to find a protein powder that I really like.

Other meals include this delicious “Mexican Bowl” (ground turkey, rice, avocado, tomatoes with taco seasoning).

20151215_125019

And also these amazing Chicken Enchiladas adapted from Bill Phillips Eating for Life (with some tomatoes and light sour cream).

20151215_193911

Tomorrow I will post my starting measurements and photos.

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Picking a Plan

    • That’s great to hear! Question for you: the workouts are set up to be 3 sets of 10-12 reps of each exercise. Do you do all three sets of each exercise and then move on to the next or do you do the first set of each exercise and then repeat the circuit? Do you think it matters?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Great question- I personally enjoyed the circuit format! I think that either way will get you great results, but when you do circuit format, you’re giving your muscle groups a longer recovery period, allowing you to potentially lift more and become stronger than if you did the sets in succession 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

