Planning is Power

Every other Wednesday my “It’s Complicated” and I have a date night. We go to the pub for $0.35 wings and a couple pints. It’s our thing and we’ve done it ever since we met 2 years ago. It gives us a chance to reconnect with each other and just sit down and talk. It’s actually my favorite thing to do with him and reminds me why I’m still trying to make it work, but that is an entirely different conversation.

Anyway, chicken wings and beer are not typically part of a transformation fitness and nutrition plan; however, I do believe in the power of planned cheats. I actually find it very empowering to know exactly when I am going to indulge. There’s no guilt that way. I planned to do it. The key is to stick to the plan and not go crazy with freedom. I was thinking about it this morning and comparing my old behaviour pattern to my new pattern (or the new pattern I’m striving for in reality).

Old Pattern: Commit to new healthy living style. Swear off anything that does not fit on the plan. Go out with friends/family/boyfriend and tell myself I will only drink water and order a salad. Immediately break promise to self. Order anything I want and continue on this tail spin until the next time I commit to healthy living.

New Pattern: Plan out week. Know in advance when I will be having cheat meals. Enjoy the cheat meal with no guilt and then continue on plan for the rest of the week. This week’s cheats are Wednesday (Wing Night), Friday (Christmas Work Lunch) and Sunday (Christmas Party at the Stable where I keep my horses).

This morning I woke up and had my regular breakfast: Two egg muffins and cantaloupe. I can’t tell you how good it feels to get right back to the plan after last night. It is such a powerful feeling to keep commitments to yourself.

20151217_060651-1

Anyway, I thought I would share with you how I make these delicious little muffins. The nutrition stats for 2 are 112 calories, 11g of protein, 5g of fat and 4 g of carbs. (According to myfitnesspal).

Ingredients

1 cup egg whites

6 whole eggs (I calculated the stats using medium eggs)

1 cup broccoli, chopped

1 onion, chopped (about 1 cup)

0.5 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup grated light cheese

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Saute onion and broccoli until soft.
  3. Spray muffin tin well with cooking spray.
  4. Mix together egg whites, eggs, and baking powder. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Spoon broccoli and onion mixture into muffin tins.
  6. Pour egg mixture over top.
  7. Sprinkle lightly with cheese.
  8. Bake for 30 minutes.
  9. Enjoy!

2015-10-27 21.34.59

 

I’ll be back later today with starting photos and measurements. (I got derailed yesterday by a minor family emergency but all is well now!)

2 thoughts on “Planning is Power

Leave a Reply

