Getting Into the Christmas Spirit

Yesterday was a busy one! Crushed a 5km run in the morning, worked for a bit, met up with my local co-workers for a Christmas lunch (ordered grilled fish tacos and a side salad…they were delish!), went home, worked a little more, and then headed down to the barn to act like a 12 year old. Nothing says Christmas like decorating your horse’s stall and putting reindeer antlers on his head. Once a horse nerd, always a horse nerd! It never gets old.

You can see the expression on my horses’ faces just willing me to grow up. It will never happen!

This morning I woke up early and lazed around until I couldn’t laze anymore, strapped on my running shoes and busted out 10km. The longest run I have completed since October is 6km so it felt good to do something more substantial.

 

20151219_110536

Basking in the post-run glow! OK, I’m busted…it’s partially beauty filter.

I have three running goals for 2016.

  1. PR in my 15k distance.
  2. PR in my half marathon distance.
  3. Run a half marathon without any intervals (normally do the tried and 10 & 1s).

First race is a 15k at the end of January.

After my run, I made a recovery smoothie:

20151219_111505

In the mix: berries, half a frozen banana, coconut milk, 2 ice cubs, 1/2 a scoop of the funk (protein powder) and a bit of water.

After lunch, I will be heading down to do some riding. It is a rare dry day on the wet coast, so I have to get those outdoor rides in whenever I can!

3 thoughts on “Getting Into the Christmas Spirit

Leave a Reply

