A for Effort

Today I get an A for effort. I really gave it my all but fell a little short.
image

On my plan I had a back and biceps workout as well as a 7 mile fartlek run. 7 miles is a looooong run for a weekday and so I thought I would break up my workouts and do weights in the morning and run after work. I also had dinner plans with some old work friends tonight.

By the time I got back to the gym for my run (it’s really icy today so running outside isn’t an option) I had very little left in the tank. 7 miles turned into 2 miles, but I’m at least giving myself credit for the effort and actually going to the gym and attempting to run. I’m going to look at modifying my running plan. I don’t think it needs to be quite so intense. I could probably get away with a speed workout, a hills workout and a long run each week. My running goals this year are not as lofty as my weight loss goal and I need to put my resources towards the biggest goal. Obviously, running will assist me in my weight loss goal, but if I burn myself out and quit altogether, I will get no where.

Enough on that. I forgot to mention my biggest resolution of the year…I’ve gone cold turkey on potato chips. Actually, included in that is basically anything in the chip aisle including popcorn. This is a major trigger food for me and a big problem when it comes to binging so I’ve made it my goal to quite chips for a year. If I make it, I’m going to buy myself a fancy watch like the Garmin fenix.

Anyway, I think the most important thing in transformation is to learn from your setbacks. I need to stop planning more than what is realistic and feeling bad that I can’t accomplish it. Over time I will be able to do more and more. My plan for the rest of the week:

Wednesday: Legs (after work)

Thursday: Shoulders/Abs, 5km speed run (before work)

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 12 km long steady run

Sunday: Travel day

Right now it is bed time and snuggles with this little guy. Good night!
image

One thought on “A for Effort

Leave a Reply

