Week 2 Set up – Chicken Enchilada Bake

I’m going to give you a little insight into how I plan my weekly meals. Right now, I’m starting out at a 30% protein/30% fat/40% carbohydrate split and about 1500 calories per day. So how do I make this all work?

Step 1 – I pick a “featured entree” for the week. Background: I have tried to meal plan and eat IIFYM (If it fits your macros) several times. When I very first started, I thought I would make it easy and simply cook a bunch of fish, chicken, sweet potato, brown rice, etc. and then portion it out. What I found is that this diet plan was IMPOSSIBLE to stick to because the food was just too boring. I love to cook and I love to enjoy a satisfying meal at the end of the day so what I started doing is making one recipe per week and portioning it out appropriately and then fitting the rest of my macros around that. So far, it is much easier to stick to than your basic white fish, asparagus and yam mash up.

Step 2 – Plan the macros for a Monday. For this week, I decided to make Chicken Enchilada Bake so I entered all of the ingredients in myfitnesspal and plugged one serving into Monday.

Step 3 – Start building the rest of the week. After my first week, I was feeling a little backed up if you know what I mean so I really focused on adding digestion friend foods this week: more leafy greens and a little yogurt. I eat basically the same things for breakfast and lunch and then I can switch up the snacks to be more or less carbohydrate rich depending on the macros in the entree I have chosen.

For example, I always wake up and have a banana. This week, I found my protein a little low so I added an egg white to Meal 1.

Meal 2 is my post workout protein shake. Since my protein was low, I’m having a 0.75 scoop of protein powder instead of 0.5 a scoop.

Meal 3 is my standard 2 whole eggs and half a cup of egg whites plus I added a handful of spinach for some additional nutrients.

Meal 4 is a big leafy green salad made with baby spinach, swiss chard and kale, red pepper, cucumber and grape tomatoes. I’m adding 2 tbsp of my favorite salad dressing Jamaica Mistake for a hit of fat, but I can adjust the amount of dressing to fit my macros. If my fat is really low, I can add some avocado.

Meal 5 this is my main entree meal, Chicken Enchilada Bake.

Meal 6 is my yogurt snack just before bed.

It’s a bit of work to do this and it takes a bit of planning but trust me, it is so worth it.

From there, I build a grocery list:

20160605_104149

And when I get home from grocery shopping it is time to get prepping!

20160605_163154

So here’s how I make my Chicken Enchilada Bake. It makes 4 servings with 39 carbs, 16 fat and 31 protein per serving.

The ingredients:

  • 20 oz of boneless skinless chicken thighs
  • 1 medium onion
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • 2 cups chicken stock (enough to cover thighs in a skillet)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • chili powder
  • garlic powder
  • pinch cumin
  • jar of green mexican chili sauce
  • corn tortillas
  • 2 servings of light cheddar cheese

20160605_163615

In a deep skillet, soften the onion and garlic for a few minutes on medium heat. Add the chicken thighs on top of the onions. Add chicken stock to cover the thighs. Season well with salt and pepper. Add the garlic powder (small palmful), chili powder (two large palmfuls) and cumin (just a pinch for me) and bring to a simmer. Simmer partially covered until chicken is cooked through and easily breaks apart with a wooden spoon. Remove lid and turn up heat to cook off the rest of the liquid. Continue to reduce the liquid down until very little remains.

In a baking dish, add a couple of table spoons of the green mexican sauce to the bottom of the dish and spread around. Layer four tortillas over the sauce. Add the chicken mixture next and top with four more tortillas and then poor the remaining mexican sauce all over the top. Top with the grated cheese and bake at 425 for about 30 minutes.

20160605_173839

Serve with light sour cream and shredded lettuce.

20160606_170427

Delish! Enjoy! Let me know if you try it.

XOXO,

H

Leave a Reply

